Merial Award

Merial Award Parasitology

The board of the Netherlands Society for Parasitology (NVP) and Merial B.V. have introduced the Merial Award for Parasitology in 1996. To the appreciation and stimulation of scientific research in the field of veterinary and medical parasitology the Merial Award will be given to researchers originating from Belgium, The Netherlands or Luxembourg (Benelux).

Merial is now part of Boehringer Ingelheim, but a long-standing institution was not changed. The dealine for recommendations for 2017 has been closed. Further information for 2018 will follow.

Previous Merial Award laureates are: 

2017 Dr. Guy Caljon

2016 Dr. Bruno Levecke

2015 Dr. Petra Mens

2014 Dr. Pierrick Uzureau

2013 Dr. Stijn Deborggraeve

2012 Dr. Teun Bousema

2011 Dr. Johannes Charlier

2010 Dr. Tine Huyse

2009 Dr. Peter Geldhof

2008 Dr. Taco Kooij

2007 Dr. Stefan Magez

2005 Dr. Filip Claes

2004 Dr. Niko Speybroeck

2003 Dr. Véronique Hannaert

2001 Dr. Milly van Dijk

2000 Dr. Jaap van Hellemond

1999 Dr. Lisette van Lieshout

1998 Dr. Edwin Claerebout

1997 Dr. Maria Yazdanbakhsh

1996 Prof. Dr. Lodewijk Tielens

Merial award

The Merial Award is a competitive prize for young researchers who have made innovative contributions to the fields of veterinary or medical Parasitology. Scientists younger than 40 years of age who have completed their PhD studies and performed additional parasitological research of outstanding quality thereafter are eligible. Along with the certificate honouring the achievement, the winner will receive € 3000. The award is intended to encourage continued professional ambition in parasitology in the Benelux, and to reward scientific quality and active dissemination of results in (inter)national settings.

Rules and regulations

The board of the NVP will yearly choose a committee that will decide upon nominating the candidates. This committee will exist of: - three members of the NVP with a veterinary or a medical signature - the chairman of the Belgium Society for Parasitology - a representative of Merial B.V. The chairman of the committee will be appointed by the board of the NVP. The decision of the committee must also be confirmed by the board of the NVP.


The prize-giving ceremony will take place during the annual Spring Meeting of the Netherlands Society for Parasitology. Candidates should be prepared to attend this meeting in order to accept the prize personally.

Entries / Submission

The Merial Award will be presented to a researcher in the field of veterinary or medical parasitology. Candidates from the Benelux who think they might qualify for the Merial Award, and those who want to recommend a prospective candidate. The recommendation (preferably by email) should be accompanied with full information and documentation on research and other activities of the candidate.

For more information on the 2017 Merial awards click here

Send proposals to:

Prof.dr. A.G.M. Tielens

Department Biochemistry & Cell Biology

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine Utrecht University

PO Box 80176

3508 TD Utrecht, the Netherlands


tel: *-31-30-253 5380