Boehringer Ingelheim Award

Boehringer Ingelheim Award

for Parasitological Research

In 1996 the board of the Netherlands Society for Parasitology (NVP) and Merial B.V. have introduced the Merial Award for Parasitology. To the appreciation and stimulation of scientific research in the field of veterinary and medical parasitology, the Merial Award was given to researchers originating from Belgium, The Netherlands or Luxembourg (Benelux).

Merial became part of Boehringer Ingelheim in 2017, but a long-standing institution was not changed and the yearly award for excellent parasitological research in the Benelux remains, but its name was then changed to Boehringer Ingelheim Award.

Previous laureates are:

2023  Dr. Frederik Van den Broeck 

2022 Dr. Matthijs Jore

2020 Dr. Bart Everts

2019 Dr. Luc Coffeng

2018 Dr. Meta Roestenberg 

2017 Dr. Guy Caljon

2016 Dr. Bruno Levecke

2015 Dr. Petra Mens

2014 Dr. Pierrick Uzureau

2013 Dr. Stijn Deborggraeve

2012 Dr. Teun Bousema

2011 Dr. Johannes Charlier

2010 Dr. Tine Huyse

2009 Dr. Peter Geldhof

2008 Dr. Taco Kooij

2007 Dr. Stefan Magez

2005 Dr. Filip Claes

2004 Dr. Niko Speybroeck

2003 Dr. Véronique Hannaert

2001 Dr. Milly van Dijk

2000 Dr. Jaap van Hellemond

1999 Dr. Lisette van Lieshout

1998 Dr. Edwin Claerebout

1997 Dr. Maria Yazdanbakhsh

1996 Dr. Lodewijk Tielens

Boehringer Ingelheim Award

The Boehringer Ingelheim Award is a competitive prize for young researchers who have made innovative contributions to the field of veterinary or medical Parasitology. Scientists younger than 40 years of age who have completed their PhD studies and performed additional parasitological research of outstanding quality thereafter are eligible. Along with the certificate honouring the achievement, the winner will receive € 3000. The award is intended to encourage continued professional ambition in parasitology in the Benelux, and to reward scientific quality and active dissemination of results in (inter)national settings.

Rules and regulations

The board of the NVP will yearly choose a committee that will decide upon nominating the candidates. This committee will exist of three members of the NVP with a veterinary or a medical signature, the chairman of the Belgium Society for Parasitology and a representative of Boehringer Ingelheim. The chairman of the committee will be appointed by the board of the NVP. The decision of the committee must also be confirmed by the board of the NVP.

Entries / Submission

The Boehringer Ingelheim Award will be presented to a researcher in the field of veterinary or medical parasitology. Candidates from the Benelux who think they might qualify for the Boehringer Ingelheim Award, and those who want to recommend a prospective candidate are invited to inform the committee. This recommendation (by email only) should be accompanied with full information and documentation on the research and other activities of the candidate.

For more information on the 2023 Boehringer Ingelheim Award click here